My tastes and stuff I hate

I write a lot of posts that I don’t post because I don’t want to be too negative about other people’s films or other people in general.  It’s hard enough to get a movie made and just as hard to get it out there.  Nobody needs my asshole opinion chipping away at their success.  More power to them.  People like different films and that’s how it should be.

There’s a certain film out there right now that I HATED.  I usually walk away from a film disappointed, but this film really pissed me off.  It’s so bad, in its filmmaking, in what it says, in every aspect.  It’s probably going to get nominated for an Oscar, and it’s making plenty of money, so that shows what I know.  Most of my friends, who don’t work in film, like it.  Trying to convince them how awful it was, when they enjoyed it so much, seems like a waste of time.  Why should I take away any enjoyment they had from this crappy movie?  Or try to make them feel stupid for liking such crap?

So this blandness that gets passed off as quality breaks my heart a little because people think it’s good, when it’s really, really bad.  But people have different expectations of films.  I spend most of my waking hours thinking about films in one way or another.  Most people don’t do that.   I wish all films were better.  I wish people’s expectations were higher.   I wish people were a little more educated in their film viewing.

But I don’t wish that everyone had the same tastes as me.

Leave a Reply

