blogging

I wasn’t sure what I was going to blog about when I started this blog. All I knew was that I didn’t want to review films on it.

What I would like it to be now, and what I think it has become, is a view of the film industry from the audience’s point of view. I make films and I know the business and I’m educated in how this stuff works. It seems to me that there are not that many people who know the industry, but also live in a place that the industry caters to. I live outside of New York, and I sneak into the city once in a while to see a film, but, mostly, my only choice is a multiplex. That is the only choice for most people outside of New York and LA (and even in those cities).

The people who work in the film business as a whole view their customers with contempt. It is evident at every stage of film making from the script selection to the exhibition. People in Independent film live in a world that is segregated from their audience, a world where people have an appreciation for art films, see a lot of international films, and even get to go to film festivals all the time. Most people don’t do that, but that doesn’t mean that they don’t want to watch good, artful films.

So this blog will mostly talk about how films are provided and then seen, and the problems that the industry faces because they are doing a lousy job. I don’t see a lot of people doing this.

When I have another film in production, I’ll obviously change this. Possibly, I’ll have another point of view and be able to do something about it. Until then, I’ll keep spouting off with my small readership.

As a side note, I’m going to move the Stinky Monkey Manifesto to my website, where it is probably more appropriate.

Leave a Reply

